2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship

The 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship is the premier international tournament for women’s ice hockey. It is an annual event hosted by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). Teams from ten countries will compete in this year’s tournament, which will be held in April 2023. This championship provides a platform for female athletes to showcase their skills and demonstrate the power of teamwork.

The tournament has been running since 1990, with an impressive list of past champions including Canada, Finland, Sweden and Russia. The 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship promises to be a competitive and exciting event that will captivate audiences around the world.

The players who take part in this championship gain not only recognition but also invaluable experiences that can shape their futures. This year’s tournament is set to be the most thrilling yet, as teams battle for pride and honour on the ice. Fans around the world can look forward to an unforgettable display of athleticism as these remarkable women take center stage at the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

Tournament Format

The 2023 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) Women’s World Championship will be an exciting event for players and fans alike. The tournament will feature the top 10 teams in the world, all of whom have earned their place through strong performances in the previous championship.

The format of the tournament will be a round-robin group stage followed by a single elimination playoff structure. Teams are divided into two groups of five, with each team playing seven games against other teams in their group. The top four teams from each group advance to the quarter-finals, where they play a best-of-three series against one another. The winners then move on to the semi-finals and final, which are both played as single games.

In addition to competing for a world title, teams also compete for individual awards such as MVP and Best Goaltender. These awards recognize outstanding performances from players throughout the tournament and serve to inspire future generations of female hockey players worldwide. Ultimately, these awards give players an extra incentive to perform at their best during this prestigious tournament.


Group AGroup B
United States of America (USA)Sweden
Czechia (Czech Republic)Hungary

Similar Posts